Skip to main content

New Legal Permanent Residents Originally from North America (Excluding Mexico) (Metro)

Source: DHS Yearbook of Immigration Statistics, U.S. Department of Homeland Security
Topic: Population and PoliticsSubtopic: Domestic Migration & ImmigrationCategory: Permanent Residents
Product: Local StatsDate Updated: April 2020Update Tips
Select One to Compare
Choose Place
Choose Additional Dataseries
Choose Additional Dataseries
Choose Years
Data Series:

    * Between 2005 and 2006, the number of metro areas included in the data doubled. Therefore, the value in the median metro area (the midpoint of the data) declined. For median metro area, compare 2006 onward; individual metro areas can be compared from 2002 onward (with caution!). Numbers are for new recipients of green cards, not total legal permanent residents. Does not include Mexico

    Years Available: 2002–2018

    Permanent Link:

    General Notes: *National total includes Puerto Rico, which is not listed separately. Median calculated assuming that suppressed values have a value of 2, which is not true in all cases. **Numbers are for new recipients of green cards, not total legal permanent residents. A legal permanent resident (LPR) or “green card” recipient is defined by immigration law as a person who has been granted lawful permanent residence in the United States. A # symbol indicates the following: Data values of 1 or 2 suppressed to protect privacy. A number range cannot be given for suppressed data, because some higher values are suppressed to prevent the inference of values of 1 or 2, to protect privacy. A ^ symbol indicates the following: Value includes Mexico due to an inability to separate suppressed values from the total. Regional totals do not match the sum of metro areas since many persons obtaining legal permanent status are not located in Core-Based Statistical Areas. Other North America includes North America includes Canada, Greenland, Mexico, Saint Pierre and Miquelon, United States, Belize, Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua, and Panama, Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Aruba,The Bahamas, Barbados, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Grenada, Guadeloupe, Haiti, Jamaica, Martinique, Montserrat, Netherlands Antilles, Puerto Rico, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, and U.S. Virgin Islands.


    Looks like you do not have access to this content.

    Please login or find out how to gain access.